Inspiring and Training Future Leaders

The Inaugural SCP Leadership Academy (renamed Leadership Collaborative in 2019) was held in 2012 as one of Barry Chung’s Presidential Initiatives with additional funding from Northeastern University. The change of name to Leadership Collaborative sought to reflect a more active inclusion of practice-focused emerging leaders and a renewed emphasis on social justice and multicultural leadership. This unique training experience for students and early career professionals (ECPs) has continued. In 2019, SCP expanded the eligibility criteria for Leadership Collaborative Fellows to include master’s-level students in counseling programs and early career counseling professionals.

Each Leadership Collaborative cohort of LC Fellows now includes a total of twelve diverse students and early career professionals who are SAS and SCP members. They participate in leadership training, complete projects and present their project results at the annual APA convention. Projects advance the Society’s values and strategic plan under the mentorship of Society leaders. Leadership Collaborative Mentors have included Rosie Phillips Davis, Colton Brown, Carlton Green, Linda Forrest, Sandra Shullman, Anneliese Singh, Melba Vasquez, John Westefeld, and David Zelaya.

For each new Leadership Collaborative cohort, the application period opens subsequent to the APA Convention. SCP receives a host of well-written applications from enthusiastic and dynamic candidates. As of 2020, a total of 57 emerging leaders have participated in the Leadership Collaborative. Please see the links to our archives for 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2018 Fellow Bios and Reflections for more information.

Fellows from the Leadership Collaborative have cited the relationships formed during their experiences as a major highlight. Many LC Fellows have gone on to elected positions in SCP and APA, including Cirleen De Blaere, German Cadenas, Bryana French, and Lisa Ferdinand. Outside of the training opportunity inherent in LC participation, the LC includes mentoring, collaborations, and storytelling that deepen bonds and connections in the SCP community. Sentiments like “family” have been shared by prior participants, emphasizing just how close individuals can become over the experience. Project Mentors assisting Fellows with their projects have included Jan Collins-Eaglin, Candice Hargons, Andy Horne, Lisa Flores, Arpana Inman, Tania Israel, Jill Lee-Barber, Jim Lichtenberg, Helen Neville, Mary O’Leary Wiley, Jeff Prince, Liz Vera, Chiachih DC Wang, and Kerrie Wilkins-Yel.

Adapted contributions from Candice Crowell, Student Mentor ’12; Julia Phillips, Co-Chair ’13 & ’14; Andrés Consoli, Senior Mentor ’18 & ’20; and Jeanne Manese, Co-Chair ‘18 &’20.