IMOC Committee

2022-2024 Committee

Current Chair: Kelly Yu-Hsin Liao, Ph.D. (2023-2025)

  • Title: Associate Professor
  • Affiliation: Cleveland State University
  • Email: [email protected] 

Past Chair: Hsiu-Hui Chen, Ph.D. (2020-2022)

2022-2024 Subcommittees

1. Membership and Publicity Subcommittee:

Responsibilities of the Membership & Publicity Subcommittee:

  • Increase enrollment of new members and retain existing members.
  • Maintain an up-to-date database of existing members of IMOC.
  • Advertise and outreach to graduate and doctoral level programs about IMOC.
  • Develop and generate interest in the IMOC among the APA community.

2. Convention Planning Subcommittee:

 Responsibilities of the Convention Planning Subcommittee:

  • Propose topics for roundtable discussions as part of the APA Annual Convention Programming
  • Invite guest speakers and coordinate convention programming
  • Collaborate with other subcommittee chairs in planning IMOC activities throughout the year

3. Mentoring Subcommittee:

 Responsibilities of the Mentor-Mentee Subcommittee:

  • Recruit mentors for the mentoring program.
  • Match mentor and mentee.
  • Discuss ways of making the mentoring program more effective and applicable
  • Assess effectiveness of the mentoring program
  • Assist with the orientation meeting during the APA Conventions

4. Professional Development Subcommittee:

Responsibilities of the Professional Development Subcommittee:

  • Collect relevant professional development materials.
  • Collaborate with website committee members to make relevant information available on the website.
  • Compile issues discussed at conferences and post them on the website.
  • Coordinate ongoing consultation and discussion between members
  • Develop ideas for collaborative research between members

5. Website Management Subcommittee:

Responsibilities of the Website Management Subcommittee:

  • Update information on homepage
  • Update events
  • Update contact information so that listserv contains current email addresses (consult Membership Committee for current information)
  • Enroll new members into the listserv
  • Manage listserv according to APA guidelines

Past Committees and Subcommittees:

2022 to 2023 Committee:

  • Chair: Niyatee Sukumaran, Ph.D.

2020 to 2022 Committee

  • Chair: Hsiu-Hui Chen, Ph.D.
  • Membership and Publicity Subcommittee Co-Chairs: Jihee Hong, M.A.
  • Convention Planning Subcommittee Chair: Bo-Hyun Lee, Ph.D.
  • Mentoring Subcommittee Co-Chairs: Yu Chak Sunny Ho, Ph.D. & Kayi Hui-Spears, Ph.D.
  • Professional Development Subcommittee Co-Chairs: Hsiu-Hui Chen, Ph.D. & Brian TaeHyuk Keum, Ph.D.
  • Website Management Subcommittee Chair: Ying Shan Doris Zhang, M.A.
  • Student Representatives and Contributors: Sathya Baanu Jeevanba, M.A.

2018 to 2020 Committee

  • Chair: Yi-Jiun Lin, Ph.D.
  • Membership and Publicity Subcommittee Co-Chairs: Niyatee Sukumaran, Ph.D., & Asmita Pendse, Ph.D.

2016-2018 Committee

  • Chair: Shaznin Daruwalla, Psy.D.
  • Membership and Publicity Subcommittee Co-Chairs: Niyatee Sukumaran, Ph.D., & Asmita Pendse, Ph.D.
  • Convention Planning Subcommittee Chair: Bo-Hyun Lee, M.A.
  • Mentoring Subcommittee Co-Chairs: Sunny Ho, M.A., Ed.M., & Mijin Kim, M.A.
  • Website Management Subcommittee: Anil Lalwani, M.S. (Chair); Ying Shan Doris Zhang, M.A. (Facebook Management)
  • Student Representatives and Contributors: Young Hwa Kim;  Ying Shan Doris Zhang, M.A.

2014-2016 Committee

  • Chair: Elena Yakunina, Ph.D.
  • Membership and Publicity Subcommittee: Valeriya Spektor, Ph.D. (Chair)
  • Convention Development Subcommittee: Shaznin Daruwalla, Psy.D. (2015); Ae-Kyung  Jung, Ph.D. (2016) (Chair)
  • Mentor-Mentee Subcommittee: Sherry Wang (2014); Shaznin Daruwalla, Psy.D. (Chair)
  • Professional Development Subcommittee: JiYoon Lee, Ph.D. (2016) (Chair)

 2012-2014 Committee

  • Chair: Sayaka Machizawa, Psy.D.
  • Membership and Publicity Subcommittee: Valeriya Spektor, Ph.D. (Chair)
  • Convention Development Subcommittee: Ae-Kyung  Jung, Ph.D. (Chair)
  • Mentor-Mentee Subcommittee: Sherry Chin, Ph.D. (Chair; from January 2014), Yoki Mori, Ph.D. (2012-2014)
  • Website Subcommittee: vacant

2011-2012 Committee

  • Chair: Chun-Chung Choi, Ph.D., and Jean Tzou, Ph.D.
  • Membership and Publicity Subcommittee Chair: Sayaka Machizawa, Psy.D.
  • Convention Planning Subcommittee: Zeb Lim, M.S., Michael Lau, Ph.D., Hang Shim Lee, M.A., Lu Tian, M.Ed., Rohini Puri, M. Ed.
  • Mentor-Mentee Subcommittee: Yoko Mori, Ph.D., and Christiane Blanco-Oilar, Ph.D.
  • Professional Development Subcommittee Chair: Ruth Riding-Malon, Ph.D.
  • Website Subcommittee: Hung Chiao, Ph.D.

2009-2011 Committee

  • Chair: Yi-Jiun Lin, Ph.D.
  • Membership & Publicity Subcommittee: Jean Tzou, Ph.D. (Chair), Hung Chiao, M.Ed., Julia Conrath, M.A.
  • Professional Development Subcommittee: Deniz Canel-Cinarbas, Ph.D. (Chair), Minkyeong Shin, Shengying Zhang, M.Ed., Jinhee Kang, Ph.D., Yun-Jy Yeh
  • Convention Development Subcommittee: Michael Lau, Ph.D. (Chair), Kyung Hyun Kwon, M.A., Adipat “Andy” Chaichanasakul, B.A., Qian-Hui Zhang
  • Mentor-Mentee Subcommittee: Marco Gemignani, Ph.D. (Chair), Seda Sumer-Richards, Ph.D., Jueun Kim, Keeyeon Bang, Pei-Yi Lin, Ph.D.
  • Website Subcommittee: Guler Boyraz, Ph.D. (Chair), Johanna Nilsson, Ph.D., Sharon Lee, M.A., Arlette Ngoubene-Atioky, M.Ed.