Section on Positive Psychology – Summer 2015

Greetings from the Section on Positive Psychology!


We are looking forward to the upcoming APA convention. The section will be holding a number of events including:


  • A collaborative symposium titled, “Applications of Positive Psychology with the College Student Population” on Sunday (8/9) from 9:00 – 9:50 in Convention Centre Room 201F. This collaborative symposium will include presentations from the University Counseling Centers, Vocational Psychology, and Positive Psychology Sections, with Desiree Howell, Christine Robitschek, and Rhea Owens.
  • A positive psychology roundtable titled, “Positive Psychological Interventions for Diverse Child and Youth Populations” on Thursday (8/6) from 3:00 – 3:50 in 105 Constitution Hall, Convention Centre with Collie Conoley and Rhea Owens.
  • The section’s business meeting on Thursday (8/6) from 4:00 – 4:50 in the Blue Jays Room of the SCP Hospitality Space in the Renaissance Toronto Downtown. During this time we will also award our section’s awards—the Shane J. Lopez Distinguished Contributions to Positive Psychology and the Student Award for Distinguished Contributions to Positive Psychology.


APA2014_49Regarding the section awards, we will be accepting nominations (self-nominations are welcome!) until June 12th. Applications will be due July 10th. In addition, the section will be filling several of our leadership positions, including Chair-Elect, Research Representative, and Teaching Representative. Nominations will also be due on June 12th and application materials will be due on June 30th. We will also be accepting applications for Student Campus Representatives. More information about the awards and leadership positions will be sent out through our listserv and posted on our website. Please email all nominations and applications to


To get involved and for more information about our section, please visit our website:




Rhea L. Owens, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychology

University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point

Positive Psychology Section Chair



Tags: , ,
Posted on: