SCP Leadership Collaborative (formerly Leadership Academy)

Inspiring and Training Future Leaders

2014 Leadership Academy

The Inaugural SCP Leadership Academy (renamed Leadership Collaborative in 2019) was held in 2012 as one of Barry Chung’s Presidential Initiatives with additional funding from Northeastern University. This unique training experience for students and early career professionals (ECPs) was continued in 2013 as one of President Andy Horne’s Initiatives. Based on data from the 2012 program evaluation and subsequent iterations and their corresponding evaluations, the SCP Executive Board (EB) has continued to fund the Leadership Academy.  In 2019, SCP expanded the eligibility criteria for Leadership Collaborative Fellows to include masters level students in counseling programs and early career Counseling professionals.

Each Leadership Collaborative cohort includes twelve diverse students and early career professionals who are SAS/SCP members. They participate in leadership training, complete projects, and present project results at an APA convention. As part of the Leadership Collaborative experience, participants create and implement projects to advance the Society’s values and strategic plan under the mentorship of Society leaders.

For each Leadership Collaborative, SCP receives a host of well-written applications from enthusiastic, engaged and dynamic candidates, making the selection difficult. As of 2019, a total of 50 emerging leaders have participated in the Leadership Collaborative (formerly Leadership Academy). In each rendition we have had an outstanding group of applicants, and their diverse backgrounds demonstrate that the future of SCP will be in the hands of a diverse body  in a variety of career settings. Please see the links to our 2012, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2018 Fellow (formerly participant) Bios for more information.

The 2012 Leadership Academy faculty included co-chairs Rosie Bingham and Linda Forrest, as well as Candice Crowell, Katharine Hahn Oh, Sandra L. Shullman, and John Westefeld. The 2013 Leadership Academy faculty included co-chairs Katharine Hahn Oh and Julia Phillips, as well as Barry Chung, Zoeann Finzi-Smith, Sandra Shullman, and Melba Vasquez. The 2014 Leadership Academy was led by co-chairs Barry Chung and Julia Phillips, as well as Cynthia Guzmán, Heidi Hutman, Melba Vasquez, and Sandra Shullman. The 2016 Leadership Academy was led by co-chairs Linda Forrest and Lali McCubbin as well as Sandra Shullman, Cirleen DeBlaere, Carlton Green, and David Zelaya. The 2018 Leadership Academy was led by Co-Chairs Linda Forrest and Jeanne Manese as well as Anneliese Singh, Andrés Consoli, Valene Whittaker, and Colton Brown.

The members of the 2018 Leadership Academy proposed to SCP’s leadership to change the name of the program. Upon approval and starting in 2019, the Leadership Academy became the Leadership Collaborative, faculty members became mentors, participants became fellows, and the faculty mentoring the fellows in their projects became project mentors. Moreover, the change of name and titles sought to reflect a distancing from terminology representative of academia, an active embracing of practice-focused constituents, and a renewed emphasis on social justice and multicultural leadership.

Fellows from the Leadership Collaborative have cited the relationships formed during their experiences as extremely valuable. Outside of the training, there has been mentoring, advice sharing, and storytelling that create a community no one in attendance will soon forget. Sentiments like “family” have been shared, emphasizing just how close participants became over the experience. So, although the three major thrusts of the Leadership Academy are training in multicultural leadership, learning about SCP, and developing projects, the theme of connection ties it all together. Numerous mentors assisted participants with their projects including Jill Lee-Barber, Jan Collins-Eaglin, Candice Hargons, Andy Horne, Lisa Flores, Arpana Inman, Tania Israel, Jim Lichtenberg, Natasha Maynard-Pemba, Michael Mobley, Helen Neville, Mary O’leary Wiley, Jeff Prince, Aaron Rochlen, Thomandra Sam, Nathan Grant Smith, Liz Vera, Chia-Chih DC Wang, Kerrie Wilkins-Yel, and Lauren Woolley. Relationships often sustain the work of professional service, giving us a sense of community while we make a difference in our field. Leadership Collaborative Fellows are encouraged to connect with others in the Society, both those already in leadership and those seeking to be in leadership, in an effort to make a more inclusive leadership circle for all.

We invite you to read the reflections from the 201220132014, and 2016 Leadership Academy (now Collaborative) participants (now Fellows).

Submitted by Candice Crowell, student member of the 2012 Leadership Academy faculty, and Julia Phillips, Co-Chair of the 2013 and 2014 Leadership Academy STG, Andrés Consoli, senior mentor, 2018 & 2020 Leadership Collaborative.

Please consider making a tax-deductible contribution to support the ongoing Leadership Collaborative.