SCP Leadership Academy

Inspiring and Training Future Leaders

2014 Leadership Academy

The Inaugural SCP Leadership Academy was held in 2012 as one of Barry Chung’s Presidential Initiatives with additional funding from Northeastern University.  This unique training experience for students and early career professionals (ECPs) was continued in 2013 as one of President Andy Horne’s Initiatives.  Based on data from the 2012 program evaluation, the SCP Executive Board (EB) voted to fund the Leadership Academy for 2014, 2016, and 2018 after which it will re-evaluate its effectiveness.

Each Leadership Academy class includes ten diverse student and early career professional SAS/SCP members who participate in leadership training, complete projects, and present project results at convention. In 2012, the leadership training included strategic planning, observation of the SCP EB midyear meeting, and development of participants’ understanding of leadership.  In 2013, leadership training again co-occurred with the SCP EB Meeting prior to the National Multicultural Conference and Summit.  This backdrop set the stage for continued exploration of leadership in multicultural contexts.  In 2014, the Leadership Academy will be held in conjunction with the EB meeting at the 2014 Counseling Psychology Conference in Atlanta, providing additional opportunities to examine leadership in an historical context.  As part of the Leadership Academy experience, participants create and implement projects to advance the Society’s values and goals under the mentorship of Society leaders.

For each of the three Leadership Academies, SCP received a host of well-written applications from enthusiastic, engaged and dynamic candidates, making the selection difficult. A total of twenty emerging leaders have participated in the Leadership Academy, with ten more to participate in 2014.  Each year we have had an outstanding group of applicants, and their diverse backgrounds demonstrate that the future of SCP will be in the hands of a well-rounded body of counseling psychologists in a variety of career settings.  Please see the links to our 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2016 Participant Bios for more information on our SCP Leadership Academy participants.

2012 Leadership Academy faculty included Rosie Bingham (Co-Chair), Candice Crowell (student member), Linda Forrest (Co-Chair), Katharine Hahn Oh, Sandra L. Shullman, and John Westefeld.   In 2013, Leadership Academy faculty included Barry Chung, Zoeann Finzi-Smith (student member), Katharine Hahn Oh (Co-Chair), Julia C. Phillips (Co-Chair), Sandra L. Shullman, and Melba J. T. Vasquez.  The 2014 Leadership Academy is under way, led by Co-Chairs Barry Chung and Julia Phillips.  Leadership Academy faculty also include Cynthia E. Guzmán (ECP member), Heidi Hutman (student member), Melba J. T. Vasquez, and Sandra L. Shullman.

Participants from the Leadership Academy have cited the relationships formed during their experiences as extremely valuable. Outside of the work, there has been mentoring, advice sharing, and storytelling that create a community no one in attendance will soon forget. Sentiments like “family” have been shared, emphasizing just how close participants became over the training. So, although the three major thrusts of the Leadership Academy are training in multicultural leadership, learning about SCP, and developing projects, the theme of connection ties it all together.  Numerous mentors assisted participants with their projects including Jill Lee-Barber, Jan Collins-Eaglin, Andy Horne, Tania Israel, Jim Lichtenberg, Michael Mobley, Helen Neville, Julia Phillips, Aaron Rochlen, Thomandra Sam, Liz Vera, Nathan Grant Smith, Chia-Chih DC Wang, and Lauren Woolley.  Relationships often sustain the work of professional service, giving us a sense of community while we make a difference in our field.  Leadership Academy participants are encouraged to connect with others in the Society, both those already in leadership and those seeking to be in leadership, in an effort to make a more inclusive leadership circle for all.

Read reflections from the 20122013, 2014, and 2016 Leadership Academy participants.

Submitted by Candice Crowell, student member of the 2012 Leadership Academy faculty, and Julia Phillips, Co-Chair of the 2013 and 2014 Leadership Academy STG.

Please consider making a tax-deductible contribution to support the ongoing Leadership Academy.