Updates and Announcements

2017 APA Convention Updates

Thank you to all our members for a successful APA convention!  A special welcome to all our new and returning officers in the section.  Congratulations to our winning poster presentations, which were presented this year at APA:

Sydney Fiol, B.A., Denise S. Marques, M.A., & Maite Mena, Psy.D.
University of Miami
Implementing SBIRT in Several Community-Based Healthcare Systems: Preliminary Data, Implementation Strategies, and Challenges

Jeffrey Grimes, B.S., Laura M. Gumbiner, M.A., & Kerrie G. Wilkins-Yel, Ph.D.
Indiana University
Community Conversations: A Program Evaluation of an Abbreviated Diversity Dialogue Initiative

Anil Lalwani, M.S., & Miranda Villard, M.Ed.
Cleveland State University
Advocating Self-Care for the Marginalized: Discussing Theoretical, Practical, and Social Implications

Students Anil Lalwani and Miranda Villard present their research at the Division 17 Social Hour at APA 2017

An additional congratulations to the 2017 recipient of the Prevention Section Research Award, Keiko M. McCullough.  Her research was titled, “Evaluating the Efficacy of the Actively Addressing Gender With Men Program among Fraternity Members”

Dr. Dorothy Espelage presents the 2017 Prevention Section Research Award to Keiko M. McCullough at the APA Convention in Washington, DC.