SAW gives a number of awards for outstanding contributions.

Award winners, 2016:

SAW Woman of the Year: Dr. Julia Phillips


Dr. Julia Phillips is an Associate Professor and the Co-Director of Training for the APA-accredited doctoral program in counseling psychology at Cleveland State University (CSU). She is licensed as a psychologist in Ohio and worked for 21 years in university counseling centers prior to joining CSU’s faculty in 2013. Dr. Phillips was recognized as a fellow by APA in 2007 and was awarded the 2013 Outstanding Training Director by the SCP Supervision and Training Section.  Dr. Phillips has scholarly interests that combine the areas of training, education, professional development, and diversity issues.  As a counseling center psychologist, she was actively engaged in research and worked to create a positive research training environment for interns.  Recent research projects with intern cohorts included a methodological review of literature on non-traditional college students (Langhrer, Phillips, Melville, & Eum, 2015) and a study of intuitive eating and college women student-athletes (Hahn Oh, Wiseman, Hendrickson, Phillips, Hayden, & Martin, 2012).  Current projects with CSU students are focusing on counseling competencies with sexual minority clients; gender norm conformity; and self-care and burnout in graduate students. Dr. Phillips has especially enjoyed the collegiality, support, and lifelong learning she has experienced as a leader in professional organizations.  Highlights of her professional service include a variety of SCP Section roles, 6 years on the SCP Executive Board, 2 years as the SCP Leadership Academy Co-Chair, and a term on the Committee for Division/APA Relations (CODAPAR).  In August 2016, she will begin a term as President-Elect Designate for the Council of Counseling Psychology Training Programs (CCPTP).

SAW Foremother of the Year: Dr. Ruth Fassinger


Dr. Ruth E. Fassinger is Professor Emerita in the Counseling Psychology program at the University of Maryland (UMD), College Park. She earned her Ph.D. in psychology from the Ohio State University in 1987 after a previous career in primary and secondary teaching. She worked as a staff psychologist and adjunct faculty member at UC/Santa Barbara and Arizona State University prior to her UMD position. At UMD, she was named a Distinguished Scholar-Teacher and served in many leadership roles, including department Chair, co-founder of the Consortium on Race, Gender and Ethnicity, and co-founder of the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) Studies program. She also directed undergraduate Honors and Living-Learning programs and mentored dozens of graduate and undergraduate students through her leadership and research. After leaving UMD, she served as Dean of the College of Education at California State University, Stanislaus (where she oversaw 19 bachelors, masters, and doctoral programs on two campuses), and as (founding) Dean of the College of Graduate and Professional Studies at John F. Kennedy University (where she oversaw 11 masters and doctoral programs across three campuses and managed three community counseling centers). Most recently, she served as a Visiting Scholar at the American Psychological Association (AP)A, completing a study for the Science Directorate and the Women’s Programs Office on gender patterns in the psychology workforce. Currently, she maintains an independent practice in consulting, training, career/leadership coaching, writing, and providing research and evaluation assistance.

Dr. Fassinger’s diversity-focused scholarship is primarily in the psychology of women and gender (particularly women in STEM fields), sexuality and sexual orientation, and the psychology of work/career, including leadership. She is a Fellow of the APA in three divisions (Counseling Psychology [Div 17], Psychology of Women [Div 35], and Psychological Study of LGBT Issues [Div 44]). She has served or currently serves on the editorial boards of six journals in psychology, and she is active in APA leadership, including her role as founding faculty and Executive Committee member of the Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology (LIWP). She has received numerous awards for her scholarship, teaching and mentoring, and professional contributions, including the Outstanding Achievement Award (APA’s Committee on LGBT Concerns); Early Career Scientist-Practitioner Award and Woman of the Year Award (Div 17); Distinguished Contributions to Education and Training Award (Div 44); Outstanding Scientific Contributions to Psychology Award (Maryland Psychological Association); Laura Brown Mentoring Award, Strickland-Daniel Award for Distinguished Mentoring, and the Distinguished Leader for Women in Psychology Award (Div 35). Dr. Fassinger’s most recent professional venture is creating a philanthropic business, SEW RUTH: Quilts for Causes. This effort sends proceeds earned from her custom, hand-made quilts to a variety of worthy causes. You can see her work at

SAW Student of the Year: Morgan Grotewiel


Morgan Grotewiel, M.A., is a sixth-year student in Counseling Psychology at the University of Missouri-Kansas City and a predoctoral intern at the University of Iowa Student Counseling Service. Her research interests include objectification, feminist psychology, positive psychology, and motivation. Morgan has been active in SAW since 2013. She currently serves as Website Coordinator and Newsletter Assistant Editor and will begin a two-year term as Newsletter Editor in August 2016. After completing her internship in August 2016, Morgan will reside in Hermann, Missouri, where she will continue her research, writing, and teaching.

SAW Student Research Award: Natalie Raymond


Congratulations Natalie Raymond, the winner of the 2016 SAW Student Research Award. Natalie a second-year doctoral student in the Counseling Psychology program at the University of North Dakota, will receive $200 in support of her project, “A Positive Sexuality Class to Reduce Sexual Violence: Initial Findings and Longitudinal Directions.” This mixed-methods study will explore the impact of a class about sex positivity and healthy relationships for college women. The class aims to foster multiple protective factors shown to reduce the risk of sexual violence, while also teaching media literacy, assertiveness, consent, and other behaviors that promote positive sexuality. Natalie hopes that the results of this study will continue to shed light on what works in prevention programming, particularly regarding feminist and strengths-based approaches. Her advisor, Dr. Ashley Hutchison, is a co-author for this project.

Award winners, 2015:

SAW Woman of the Year: Dr. Meghan Davidson
SAW Student Research Award: Janelle Maloch