Diversity and Public Interest Spring 2017 Webinar Series

Hello good folks!

Feeling like you want to take your advocacy to another level, get some inspiration, re-charge, or just be with community? Well, it is time for our next webinar in the Diversity and Public Interest Spring 2017 series! Please join us for a vibrant and lively discussion with Evelyn Hunter and Brittan Lee Davis – description and login info below!

Counseling Psychologists for Peace and Action: Putting Social Justice Theory and Research into Practice

Evelyn Hunter, PhD and Brittan Lee Davis, MA

February 16, 2017 (Thursday) at 6:00 pm EDT/5:00 pm CDT/3:00 pm PDT

Link to the video recording of the webinar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8pO2D4WXO_0&list=PL_4VxOV2vmnzrCGmivQi9DOgSwwxAr75F&index=1&t=4s

Login at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8347097933434338051

Given the current sociocultural and sociopolitical climate, the call to systematically engage in social justice work is crucial. Despite the continuously growing body of scholarship on social justice-oriented topics and the infusion of social justice theory into therapy and teaching, there remains little discussion on what social justice work looks like and entails, limited practice-based instruction, and political and social activism can even be discouraged within various institutions (e.g., the academy, professional organizations, counseling centers/practices). This webinar aims to facilitate a discussion on how to put social justice theory and research into practice within various stages of professional identity (i.e., student, ECP, and mid-career professional).

Taking Action Against Anti-Semitism: An Intergenerational Dialogue

Dan Walinsky, PhD, Amy Reynolds, PhD, Saba Rasheed Ali, Ph.D., and Heidi Hutman, M.A.

March 23, 2017 (Thursday) at 2:00 pm EDT/1:00 pm CDT/12:00 pm PDT

Login at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7001772889083075587

How can counseling psychologists take action to address anti-Semitism in their classrooms, clinical experience, and advocacy efforts? Counseling psychologists across training levels (e.g., student, early career professional, mid and late-career professionals) from diverse religious/spiritual and cultural backgrounds come together to discuss the types of anti-Semitism and the conditions that allow this type of oppression to foster.

Infusing Trans Issues into Counseling Psychology Supervision and Training: Dialogue between Supervisees and Supervisors 

Wendy Gonzalez-Canal, MA, lore m. dickey, PhD, and Anneliese A. Singh, PhD

April 17, 2017 (Monday) at 12:00 pm EDT/11:00 am CDT/9:00 am PDT

Login at: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/949800305548263683

The APA endorsed the Guidelines for Psychological Practice with Transgender and Gender Nonconforming Clients (2016) in 2015, and there are ample opportunities to infuse the use of the guidelines in psychological education, teaching, practice, research, and advocacy. Presenters discuss these opportunities, with a special focus on how supervisors and supervisees can work together to make their training sites trans-affirmative and culturally-responsive.

Take care~
Anneliese

Anneliese A. Singh | Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion | Associate Professor of Counseling and Human Development Services | College of Education | University of Georgia | G9 Aderhold Hall | Athens GA 30602 | 404-849-8186

Facebooktwitterredditpinterestlinkedinmail Tags: ,
Posted on: