Past President

Martin Heesacker: 2017-2018

Martin Heesacker is the Past-President of the Society of Counseling Psychology (APA’s Division 17) and a professor of psychology at the University of Florida (UF). He earned his Ph.D. in 1983 from the University of Missouri, Columbia. He has served as chair of UF’s Department of Psychology, chair of the Association of Heads of Departments of Psychology, chair of the Council of Counseling Psychology Training Programs, treasurer and executive board member of the Council of Graduate Departments of Psychology, executive board member of the American Psychological Association’s (APA’s) Commission on Accreditation, director of UF’s accredited doctoral training program in counseling psychology, and as chair of the promotion and tenure committee for UF’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. Dr. Heesacker has been a faculty member in the Psychology Departments of Southern Illinois University, Carbondale and The Ohio State University. He has been an editorial board member for the two major journals in counseling psychology. Dr. Heesacker has authored or co-authored over 110 scholarly publications, over 140 scholarly conference presentations (38 of which were invited), and has supervised or co-supervised 30 doctoral dissertations. Dr. Heesacker’s published research has been cited over 2,800 times in other scholarly publications, according to the Publish or Perish database. Dr. Heesacker received the Early Career Award in Counseling Psychology from the Society and a J. William Fulbright Scholarship to the Netherlands. He was elected to membership in Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, to the Society of Experimental Social Psychology, and recently to the Heterodox Academy. He has been named a fellow in the Counseling Psychology and the Men and Masculinity Divisions of APA. Dr. Heesacker received the Davis Productivity Award from Florida TaxWatch, an Eli Lilly Foundation Teaching Fellowship, and two UF teaching awards. He has received the Teacher of the Year award three times, most recently in 2013, as well as an Outstanding Service Award from Psi Chi, UF’s psychology honor society. He has received both the Distinguished Faculty Award and the Distinguished Mentor of Undergraduate Research Award from the University of Florida’s Blue Key Society, as well as a teaching award from UF’s College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.